Outfit of the Day: World Cup Game Day Look

Standard

It’s that rare time of the year again. That one big event in which the entire world comes together as one to witness some of the greatest athletes we have ever seen. The one big event in which face paint, rebel chants, obnoxious (yet melodic) plastic horns, bright colors and the ever so famous “GOOOOOOOAAAAALLLL!!!” are all perfectly acceptable, if not encouraged. If you haven’t caught on to the event in which I am referring, then you clearly have been in hiding for the past month, but I’ll say it anyways- the FIFA World Cup!

Having played soccer from the time I could walk, I am a huge soccer and will forever hold a very special place in my heart for the beautifully game. Aside from being very passionate about soccer, if you’ve been reading my blog, I think it’s become quite obvious that I’m also passionate about fashion. Luckily for me, soccer is a sport that infuses fashionable trends and style throughout the game, on and off the pitch! For this week’s “Outfit of the Day” post, I chose to spotlight the World Cup and what I’ve been wearing as I cheer on the USA while they relentlessly take on the ever-dreaded Group of Death. So far my outfit of choice has proven to be quite lucky in helping Team USA prove naysayers wrong – aside from the fact that they have unexpectedly played some incredible soccer thus far. Hope my World Cup game day look inspires you to take part in the World’s game and fills you with the spirit to cheer on your team!

Wear your red, white and blue loud and proud in this fun World Cup game day look! Media provided by Polyvore.
Wear your red, white and blue loud and proud in this fun World Cup game day look! Media provided by Polyvore.

THE LOOK

For this look, I definitely have been keeping it simple in the accessories department- this is always a smart idea when you’re surrounded by a mosh-pit of people chanting, jumping up and down and consuming large quantities of beer. The top I have been wearing is a retro-inspired fitted women’s USA soccer jersey. Obviously it’s a great game day choice because it’s team-oriented, but it’s also very fashionable because of it’s throwback styling. My favorite part about this jersey is that it’s doesn’t look like your typical over-sized jersey- I could actually wear this on a day where I feel like being casual, or even on the golf course as my boyfriend patiently tries to teach me how to play. I hopped on the trendy-wagon for my bottoms, and have been wearing pinstripe washed out skinny ankle jeans. Both washed out and pinstripe patterns are currently big denim trends that are reminiscent of throwback styling. Pairing this pair of slightly distressed skinnies with the retro-inspired jersey make for the perfect throwback look!

As I mentioned, I have kept the accessories simple for this look, and the shoes are no different. I have been wearing shoes that are comfortable, easy to move around in and surprisingly still trendy! My go-to shoe for this this fall has been a pair of beige perforated leather flats. Perforated leather is a hot trend this season, and the flat-style of the leather shoes made it possible to sport this trend- wearing heels to a sporting event of any kind is a big no! The flat design of the shoe combined with the unique touch of perforated detailing in the leather creates the perfect loafer that is definitely okay to wear in warm weather climates. Also, the fuller-coverage of the shoe has been protecting my little feet from fans getting a little too caught up in celebrating!

The finishing touches to my World Cup game day look add just the right amount of team spirit. Red, white and blue hair ties, American flag face stickers, USA inspired arm bands are all fun additions that add a special touch of team spirit to any game day outfit. Hope you enjoy my look, and are inspired to join in the World Cup celebration. GO USA!

A closer look at the retro-inspired USA jersey and pinstripe washed out skinny ankle jeans. Media provided by FIFA and BlueFly.
A closer look at the retro-inspired USA jersey and pinstripe washed out skinny ankle jeans. Media provided by FIFA and BlueFly.

GET THE LOOK!

Retro-Inspired USA Jersey: Buy it Now from Fifa.com!

Pinstripe Washed Out Skinny Ankle Jeans: Buy them Now from Bluefly!

Beige Perforated Leather Flats: Buy them Now from ShopBop!

Shop tons of fun Team USA accessories from Polyvore!

A closer look at the beige perforated leather flats and USA game day accessories! Media provided by ShopBop and Polyvore.
A closer look at the beige perforated leather flats and USA game day accessories! Media provided by ShopBop and Polyvore.

I’m a Kentucky girl born and raised in Lexington, and bleeding blue since birth. I currently work as a Digital Knowledge Manager for Kate Frost Inc. where we create and manage the digital marketing (Social Media pages, Webpages, Blogs and Analytics) for car dealers across the country. I have a huge passion for fashion, and want to share it with you through highlighting my favorite looks 🙂

Follow @LaurenNBurton on Twitter

Friend me on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/lauren.burton.3975

Pin with me http://www.pinterest.com/laurennburton

Follow my Instagram @LaurenNBurton

Explore my Tumblr http://www.tumblr.com/blog/laurennburton

Circle me on G+ http://gplus.to/laurennburton

Leave a Reply

